States of Nigeria
Key Sections
Privatisation & Foregn Direct Invsetment
...the vibes were great, the atmosphere was great and most importantly the people were great...
 About Us I Forum I Become A Member I Newsletter I Reports & Studies I Contact Us
About Us

nigerian members

Borno State was created in 1976. It was carved out of the former Northeastern State by the Murtala Mohammed administration initially, comprised the present Borno and Yobe States. The creation of the state is, for the Kanuris who constitute its dominant ethnic group, the revival of a lost glory of the Borno Empire. Borno State, in 1976, covered 116,081 sq. km and embraced a greater part of pre-colonial Borno. Present Borno State, covers 69,435 sq. km

In August, 1991, the Babangida regime carved the western part of Borno into Yobe State.

Administrative Structure:

Borno State now comprises twenty-seven local government areas (LGAs). Each LGA serves as a constituency for the State House of Assembly and is divided into three senatorial districts: Borno North, Borno Central and Borno South. Borno North and Central districts are inhabited mainly by the dominant Kanuris, while Borno South has a number of other ethnic minorities.
Bornoo is made up of three Emirates (Borno, Dikwa and Biu); and four chiefdoms (Shani, Askira, Uba and Gwoza). These emirates and chiefdoms are sub-divided into about forty Districts and over 200 village units. Each district is headed by a district head who is the official representative of the traditional authority in his area of jurisdiction